Skip to content

Shrey Majmudar is a winner of the 2022 Terry Sanford Leadership Award from the Sanford School of Public Policy at Duke University. 

This prestigious award is named for the former Duke President, N.C. governor and U.S. senator Terry Sanford, who urged students to have outrageous ambitions and started the public policy program at Duke 50 years ago. It is presented annually to a graduating senior who demonstrates exceptional leadership. Majumdar held several positions with Duke Student Government, and served on various university leadership committees, including as student member of search committees for key university positions. 

Excerpt from a nomination letter: "Shrey’s service goes far beyond visibility and volume.  He demonstrates a remarkable amount of care while shepherding his initiatives through the many rounds of meetings, revisions, and setbacks it takes to see them come to fruition. ... Shrey does the work he does out of love and empathy for his community – and he seeks no recognition for it.  In fact, I believe he’ll be a bit embarrassed to win an award like this.  Which is exactly why he should be considered."


Another Sanford Award Winner

The school also named Olivia Reneau a Terry Sanford Leadership Award winner.  The two students exercised very different approaches to leadership and effecting change during their time on campus. Whereas Majmudar's expertise is creating change within an established organization, Reneau is skilled at identifying unmet needs and bringing students together to meet them.

Watch Olivia's Story