You are here

News in Brief

Browse news about the Sanford community, such as faculty honors and grants, new program offerings and projects.


Three Duke Seniors Selected as Hart Fellows

Three Duke seniors have been selected as Hart Fellows for 2017-2018.  They will spend a year abroad working with community-based organizations. The three fellows are: Paige Newhouse, who will work on refugee issues in Germany; David Rose, who will work at the Arava Institute in Israel on environmental issues in the Middle East; and Henry Warder, who will work in Tanzania with Nia Technologies and a partner clinic of 3-D printed prosthetics. Since 1995, the Hart Leadership Program has placed ...


Muschkin is RTI Scholar for 2017-2018 Academic Year

Clara Muschkin, associate research professor at the Sanford School and an affiliate of the Center for Child and Family Policy, has been selected for the RTI University Scholars program for the 2017-18 academic year. The program provides support for distinguished academic researchers to spend scholarly leave time at RTI International, actively collaborating with RTI experts. The goal of the ...


Wiener Co-authors Report on Transatlantic Risk Regulation

Jonathan B. Wiener, Perkins professor of law, environmental policy and public policy, is a co-author of a new report, “Transatlantic Patterns of Risk Regulation: Implications for International Trade and Cooperation.”  Published by the International Risk Governance Council in Lausanne, Switzerland, the report was commissioned by the European Parliament to help ...


New Jazz Opera Based on Korstad's Book

Very few historians have seen their work turned into an opera, and even fewer public policy professors can make that claim.  But Professor Robert Korstad can.  Love Songs from the Liberation Wars, the new jazz opera that premiers on March 30 at the Tommy Douglas Conference Center in Silver Spring, MD, is based on his book, Civil Rights Unionism: Tobacco Workers and the Struggle for Democracy in the Mid-Twentieth Century South.  


Mohanan appointed to Lancet Global Health Commission

Sanford Professor Manoj Mohanan has been selected to serve on the new Lancet Global Health Commission on High Quality Health Systems in the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) Era.  He is one of 30 commissioners from 18 different countries, which includes academics, policy-makers, government officials and community and patient ...


Duke-Margolis Center Apppoints Advisory Board

Former FDA commissioner Mark McClellan portrait

The Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy announced the appointment of an external advisory board on Feb. 9 at an event in Washington, D.C.  The center is directed by Mark McClellan, professor of business, medicine and policy. Four other Sanford faculty members, Frank Sloan, Donald H. Taylor, Peter Ubel and ...


Gill is New Contributing Editor to Brookings Institute Development Blog

Indermit Gill, director of the Duke Center for International Development, is a contributing editor to the Brookings Institute blog, Future Development.  The blog was originally launched by the World Bank in 2013, to offer solutions to prominent ...


Bruce Jentleson reelected vice chairman of Carnegie Council

Bruce Jentleson

Bruce Jentleson, professor of public policy and political science, has been reelected to be vice chairman of the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs for 2017. The Council provides educational materials about international ethics and convenes more than 50 event annually. Founded by Andrew Carnegie in 1914, it works to “explore the ethical dilemmas posed by issues such as deadly conflict, human rights violations, the ethics of globalization, global economic inequalities, and the increasing role of religion in politics around the world.” Jentleson has served ...


Sanford Professors Ranked Among Most Influential in Education

For the fourth year in a row, Sanford professors Charles Clotfelter and Helen F. Ladd were in the top 100 of the most influential scholars in education in the list released by Education Week on Jan. 11. The 2017 RHSU Edu-Scholar Public Influence list was created by Frederick M. Hess, a member of the American Enterprise Institute ( ...


Two Articles by Sanford Professors Top 10 in 2016 for Health Affairs

Two articles by Sanford professors, Peter Ubel and Manoj Mohanan, were picked by the editor-in-chief of the journal Health Affairs as top 10 articles of 2016. Study Of Physician And Patient Communication Identifies Missed Opportunities To Help Reduce Patients’ Out-Of-Pocket Spending by Peter Ubel et. al, was published in April. The authors studied audio recordings of patient visits to examine whether doctors helped patients consider out-of-pocket spending in making medical decisions.  ...


Amb. Joseph Gives Keynote at MLK Leadership Award Ceremony

Amb. James Joseph, professor emeritus of public policy, will give the keynote speech at the Martin Luther King Leadership Award ceremony in Pittsburgh on Jan. 28. The awards are bestowed by the Coro Center for Civic Leadership, and recognize leaders who set a positive example in building strong, inclusive communities.The awards are given in four categories: Distinguished Individual Leadership Awards, Distinguished Coro Alumni Leadership Awards, Distinguished Organizational Leadership Awards, and Distinguished Emerging Leadership Awards (ages 16-20).


Taylor Appointed to National Academies Committee

Donald H. Taylor, Jr. professor of public policy, assistant professor of community and family medicine and associate professor of nursing, and Kevin A. Schulman, professor of medicine, business administration and global health, have been appointed to the National Academies Committee on Health Care Utilization and Adults with Disabilities.

The ad hoc committee will analyze how health care utilization may be used as an indicator of impairment under the Social Security Administration’s definition of disability. ...