You are here

News in Brief

Browse news about the Sanford community, such as faculty honors and grants, new program offerings and projects.


Darity Receives Mentoring Award from AEA

William “Sandy” Darity, Jr has been selected as one of the three inaugural recipients of the Impactful Mentor Awards given by the American Economic Association’s Mentoring Program. The award recognizes and celebrates the excellence of mentors who promote diversity, access, and inclusion in the economics profession.

The program was established with support from the National Science Foundation in the 1990s to help address the under-representation of ...


Carnes Receives Langford Lectureship Award

Sanford Professor Nick Carnes has been selected to receive a Thomas Langford Lectureship Award for the academic year of 2018-2019.

The award was established in 2000 in honor of Thomas Langford, former Duke University provost and dean and faculty member of the Divinity School, to promote faculty excellence and community and to recognize scholarship, teaching and collegiality. The ...


Rose Appointed to City-County Committee on Confederate Monuments

Deondra Rose, assistant professor of public policy and political science, has been appointed to the Durham City-County Committee on Confederate Monuments and Memorials. 

The committee was established by the Durham County Commission, Mayor Steve Schewel and the Durham City Council to gather public input and make a recommendation about the stone base of the Confederate soldier statue toppled by protestors last August. The base is on county grounds in front of the former courthouse building, which now houses county ...


Bull City 150 Project Receives Fair Housing Advocacy Award

mill village in Durham circa 1920

BullCity150, a project led by Sanford Professor Bob Korstad, was presented with a Fair Housing Advocacy Award at the Hayti Heritage Center on April 4.

Korstad, a professor of public policy and history, is the faculty director for ...


Gifford Receives Duke Meritorious Service Award

Beth Gifford, assistant research professor of public policy, has been selected to receive a Duke University Meritorious Service Award in recognition of her work with young children and with veteran’s health in Durham.

At the Center for Child and Family Policy, Gifford oversees the NC Education Research Data Center and directs data initiatives. She is co-principal investigator for a grant from the National Institute on Drug Abuse and ...


Gassman-Pines Receives Dean’s Award for Mentoring

Anna Gassman-Pines

Anna Gassman-Pines, associate professor of public policy, psychology and neuroscience, is a recipient of the 2018 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This award is given annually by Duke’s Graduate School, selected by senior deans and students representing the major disciplines in graduate education at the university. It recognizes faculty who have a consistent record of good mentoring.  Gassman-Pines will be ...


Human Rights Lawyer Comes to Sanford

David Tolbert

Human rights lawyer David Tolbert will spend nine months at the Sanford School as a visiting scholar. Tolbert is the former president of the International Center for Transitional Justice, which focuses on redress and resolution in post-conflict regions. He spent much of his career abroad and has helped oversee justice initiatives in, Lebanon, Cambodia and what was then Yugoslavia.

At Sanford, he will spend most of his time researching and writing on issues such as ways to improve ...


Sanford Scholars Among Most Influential in Education

For the fifth year in a row, two Sanford School of Public Policy professors, Helen Ladd and Charles Clotfelter were ranked in the top 100 of the most influential scholars in education in a list released by Education Week on Jan. 10.  The ...


Kelley Receives Albie Award

Senior Associate Dean Judith Kelley received an Albie Award for her book Scorecard Diplomacy: Grading State to Influence Their Reputation and Behavior. The book lays out the case that nations care about their ...


Senior Amy Kramer named Schwarzman Scholar

Senior Amy Kramer has been named a Schwarzman Scholar, a program that funds one year of study in Beijing, China.

Kramer, a Robertson Scholar and ROTC Cadet, majors in public policy and political science, with concentrations in U.S. foreign policy and security, peace and conflict studies. She is interested in the strategic security benefits of mainstreaming gender perspectives in military operations, and has done research in Rwanda, Israel and the United States on women’s leadership in this area. Kramer plans a career in shaping a more inclusive U.S. defense policy and in forging new ...


Ladd Appointed to Governor’s Commission on Education

Helen F. Ladd, the Susan B. King Professor Emerita of Public Policy, has been appointed to the Governor’s Commission on Access to Sound, Basic Education. North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper created the commission by executive order. ...


Tuesday's election winners have Sanford ties

Steve Schewel, a visiting assistant professor in the Sanford School, will become Durham’s mayor after winning his election Tuesday. He is a current member of the Durham city council and had been on the school board before that. Schewel, who graduated from Duke in 1973, teaches courses in the Hart Leadership Program.

In Virginia, Justin Fairfax PPS’00 will be the state’s next Lieutenant Governor. He won 52.7 percent of the vote share in a hotly contested race. A Democrat, Fairfax will be only the second African American to hold the position ever. At Duke, Fairfax served as a young ...