Innovative. Thoughtful.

Engaged in matters of consequence.

These characteristics are embedded in the DNA of Duke University’s Sanford School of Public Policy. The Sanford School of Public Policy is pleased to announce these faculty appointments for 2022-2023.

January 2022 Appointments


Alexandra Zagbayou

Alexandra Zagbayou graduated from the University of North Carolina in 2010 from its innovative leadership program known as APPLES. She has a remarkably wide set of experiences in the non-profit world, including organizational development, strategic planning, and leadership development. Alexandra joins the Hart Leadership Program thanks to a generous endowment for two professorships from Milledge A. (Mitch) Hart III and Linda W. Hart, who founded the Hart Leadership Program in 1986.

More about Alexandra Zagbayou

Fall 2022 Appointments


Robyn Caplan

Robyn Caplan is a visiting assistant professor of public policy and a visiting research fellow in Duke Science & Society. She is a senior researcher at Data & Society Research Institute, an independent nonprofit research group and a founding member of the Platform Governance Research Network. She is also a visiting fellow at Cornell Tech’s Digital Life Initiative.

She received her PhD from the School of Communication and Information at Rutgers University. She conducts research at the intersection of platform governance and media policy. Her research examines the impact of inter-and-intra-organizational behavior on platform governance and content moderation.

Her research has been published in journals such as Social Media + Society, First MondayBig Data & Society, and Feminist Media Studies. Her work has been featured by publications like The Washington Post, The New York Times, Wired, NBC, and Al Jazeera.

Follow Caplan on Twitter

Suzanne Katzenstein

Suzanne Katzenstein has been appointed a lecturer in public policy and is faculty affiliate with the Hart Leadership Program.  Since 2020, she has been an instructor and writing coach with the Hart Leadership Program, teaching “PPS 259 – Women as Leaders.”  Katzenstein received the Susan E. Tifft Teaching and Mentoring Award in spring of 2022, which recognizes outstanding contributions to teaching undergraduates and a deep commitment to the intellectual, professional and personal development of undergraduate public policy students.

Katzenstein’s current research focuses on business and corporate social responsibility, and human rights. Most recently, she was a research scholar and program director of the Duke Human Rights Center at the Kenan Institute for Ethics and a visiting assistant professor at Duke Law School. Katzenstein has a J.D. from Harvard Law School and Ph.D. in political science from Columbia University.

More about her work with Hart Leadership

New Program: Master of National Security Faculty Appointments


Admiral Dennis Blair

UNC faculty member, former Director of National Intelligence, former commander in chief, U.S. Pacific Command


Doug Brook

Served in four presidential appointed positions


Frances Tilney Burke

Served in multiple roles in the Department of Defense


Philip Candreva

Lecturer and author retired from 22 years of active duty


Greta Creech

Former GEOINT analyst and Chief of staff at the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency


Emily Goldman

Cyber strategist at the U.S. Cyber Command and National Security Agency


Elizabeth Grasmeder

Foreign-policy analyst in the U.S. government


Laura Hall

 Senior Inspector at the Office of the Inspector General, U.S. Department of State


Mark Mazzetti

Journalist for The New York Times who has received multiple Pulitzer awards


Tim Nichols

Former intelligence officer in the Marine Corps for more than 20 years


Jon Rosenwasser

Budget and policy director for the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence


Full Announcement Bios

More info about MNSP Faculty

Faculty Leadership Changes


Alex Pfaff

Alex Pfaff is leading the PhD programs, followed by Anna Gassman-Pines.

PhD Announcement

Norbert Wilson

Norbert Wilson takes the helm at the World Food Policy Center.

WFP Announcement

Andrew Nurkin

Andrew Nurkin is leading the Hart Leadership Program.

HLP Announcement

Nathan Boucher

Nathan Boucher heads Sanford's undergraduate program.

PPS Announcement

Jennifer Lansford

Jennifer Lansford now leads the Center for Child and Family Policy.

CCFP Announcement

Endowed Chair Announcements


Jay Pearson

Jay Pearson has been named to the H.M. Foundation Associate Professor Chair.

More bout Jay Pearson

Deondra Rose

Deondra Rose has been named to the Kevin D. Gorter Associate Professor of Public Policy Chair.

Deondra Rose video feature