Our faculty lead or collaborate with a wide variety of on-campus interdisciplinary research centers that are exploring vital policy questions and bringing provocative and timely speakers to campus. Through these research hubs, students can work with faculty on ground-breaking research, and engage with leaders in many fields.

Loading...

Center for Child and Family Policy

Jennifer Lansford, Director

Research Professor 

Email: lansford@duke.edu

CCFP
Loading...

Center for Strategic Philanthropy and Civil Society

Joel Fleishman, Director

Professor of Law and Public Policy

Director, Samuel and Ronnie Heyman Center for Ethics, Public Policy, and the Professions

Email: joel.fleishman@duke.edu

Strategic Philanthropy and Civil Society
Loading...

Center for the Study of Philanthropy and Voluntarism

Kristin Goss, Director

Kevin D. Gorter Professor of Public Policy

Email: kgoss@duke.edu

Philanthropy and Voluntarism
Loading...

Counterterrorism and Public Policy Fellows Program

Tim Nichols, Executive Director

Visiting Professor of the Practice of Public Policy

Email: timothy.nichols@duke.edu

Fellows Program
Loading...

DeWitt Wallace Center for Media & Democracy

Philip M. Napoli, Director

James R. Shepley Professor of Public Policy 

Email: philip.napoli@duke.edu 

DeWitt Wallace
Loading...

Duke Center for International Development

Edmund (Eddy) Malesky, Director

Professor of Political Science

Email: ejm5@duke.edu

DCID
Loading...

Duke in DC – Policy, Leadership & Innovation

Kristin Goss, Director

Kevin D. Gorter Professor of Public Policy

Email: kgoss@duke.edu

Duke in DC
Loading...

Hart Leadership Program

Andrew Nurkin, Director

Hart Associate Professor of the Practice of Public Policy

Email: andrew.nurkin@duke.edu

Hart Leadership
Loading...

POLIS: Center for Politics

Abdullah Antepli, Director

Professor of the Practice 

Email: a.antepli@duke.edu

Polis
Loading...

Samuel and Ronnie Heyman Center for Ethics, Public Policy, and the Professions

Joel Fleishman, Director

Professor of Law and Public Policy

Director, Center for Strategic Philanthropy and Civil Society

Email: joel.fleishman@duke.edu

Heyman Center
Loading...

Triangle Center on Terrorism and Homeland Security

David Schanzer, Director

Professor of the Practice of Public Policy

Email: schanzer@duke.edu

Terrorism & Homeland Security
Loading...

Triangle Institute for Security Studies

Peter Feaver, Director

Director, Program in American Grand Strategy

Professor of Political Science

Email: pfeaver@duke.edu

TISS
Loading...

World Food Policy Center

Norbert Wilson, Director

Professor of Public Policy

Professor of Food, Economics and Community (Divinity)

Email: nwilson@div.duke.edu

World Food Policy
Loading...

SAMPLE INITIATIVE

DURHAM CONNECTS

The Duke Center for Child & Family Policy launched a nurse home visiting program as Durham Connects in 2008 as part of research into ways to prevent child maltreatment. The program, Family Connects International, is now being implemented across the country. Evidence from an ongoing randomized controlled trial shows that the model delivers a significant reduction in emergency room visits and an estimated 3-to-1 return on investment.

More about Durham Connects