You are here

Alumni Highlights of 2019

December 29, 2019

Sanford alumni can be found in every corner of the world. In each corner they inhabit, they seek to help others and help the world. Meet 10 alumni creating positive change.

Anna Boulos smiling

Anna Boulos MPP'13 is a foreign service officer for the State Department honored for a 2019 Award for Constructive Dissent from American Foreign Service Association. While serving in Tijuana, Mexico, she advocated for reforms that resulted in procedural change. Learn more about her honor. (Image: The American Foreign Service Association / Joaquin Sosá)

Patrick BwirePatrick Bwire MIDP'18 works with the Center for Conflict Resolution (CECORE) in Uganda and is the project coordinator for Building Peace Through Young Adult Peace Champions, which aims to address both root causes as well as driving factors of conflicts in Ugandan communities. The project provides young people skills in peacebuilding, while also training them to become entrepreneurs. Learn more about the work.

Mark GreenblattMark Greenblatt PPS’ 95 leads oversight at the U.S. Department of Interior. Read his alumni profile



Sarhang HamasaeedSarhang Hamasaeed MIDP’07 is the director of Middle East programs at the U.S. Institute of Peace, a nonpartisan national institute created by Congress to support peace, conflict resolution and conflict prevention throughout the world. He was the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Speaker for Sanford’s graduation ceremony for those receiving advanced degrees. Read his alumni profile.


Andrew Leon Hanna

Andrew Leon Hanna PPS’14 was selected for the 2020 Forbes #30under30 list in Law & Policy for his work in co-founding DreamxAmerica, a movement combining filmmaking and impact investment to support the stories of immigrant entrepreneurs across America with fellow Duke graduate David Delaney Mayer. Read more about their Forbes recognition.

Sekou KaalundSekou Kaalund MPP’99 landed his “dream-come-true job” as head of JP Morgan Chase’s Advancing Black Pathways initiative. The new program aims to help black Americans achieve greater economic success. In February, Kaalund's team brought together influential black leaders including former U.S. Secretary of State and U.S. Army Gen. Colin Powell, NFL Quarterback Cam Newton, and U.S. Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-Ohio) to engage community members, partners and college students in the Washington, D.C. area. Read his alumni feature.


Matt Perault

MPP program to Facebook to Duke as faculty member: Matt Perault MPP'08 previously served as a director of public policy at Facebook. As of fall 2019, he is Associate Professor of the Practice in the Sanford School and Director of the Center on Science and Tech Policy at Duke University. He just launched Technology By Design, a new podcast devoted to exploring the tech industry, the products and policy decisions that shape it, and its impact on our lives. Listen to his podcast.

Sam WalkerSam Walker PPS’80 has dedicated his career to creating opportunity in the public and private sectors. Read his alumni profile



Maggie Woods

Maggie Woods MPP'14 received one of the Triangle Business Journal's 2019 40 Under 40 Leadership Awards. Among her efforts to reinvigorate civic engagement in North Carolina, she founded and led Service Year North Carolina, a statewide program aimed at encouraging young citizens to give a year of service back to their community. 

several people taking selfie and smilingAt Homecoming weekend at a ceremony in the new Karsh Alumni and Visitors Center, several Sanford alumni received Duke alumni awards. Jim Fleming PPS’09 received a Forever Duke Group award for his service as the Duke Triangle Alumni co-chair, along with Vijay Shah MBA’85. They revitalized the Triangle chapter, cultivating a strong board of directors, increased productivity and transparency through monthly lunch meetings. During their term, alumni activities skyrocketed. Four Sanford alums received the Forever Duke Award for volunteer service to Duke, the DAA and other alumni groups: Anne Arwood PPS’05; Arielle Grill PPS’93, P’21; Stevan Pardo PPS’81, JD’84, P’17, P’20; and Kyle White PPS‘07, BS’07. Read more about their honors.