Header Image for Basic Page

You are here

Faculty Advisors

Our Public Policy PhD faculty members represent diverse disciplinary backgrounds and numerous research interests.

The faculty consists of all members of the graduate faculty of Duke University with primary or secondary appointments in the Sanford School of Public Policy. It also includes members of the graduate faculties in the Departments of Political Science, Economics, Psychology, Sociology and other departments.  Faculty members of the Nicholas School of the Environment, the Fuqua School of Business, Duke Law School and other professional schools also work with our graduate students.

Our faculty enjoy interacting with our graduate students and discovering overlapping interests. A strength of our PhD program is the strong relationships developed between students and faculty through working together.

Prof. Sandy Darity"Mentorship in the context of graduate study should largely be anchored around research collaboration, that mutually serves a senior scholar pursuing a research interest and helps the junior scholar get acclimated toward publishing. You should treat graduate students as full coauthors."

—​William "Sandy" Darity, Samuel DuBois Cook Professor of Public Policy, African and African American Studies and Economics

Potential Faculty Advisors

We encourage you to learn more about the core Sanford faculty to see who you might work with to conduct research that makes a difference in our world. Following is a list of potential faculty advisors with links to their personal profile pages where you can learn about their research interests.

Potential Faculty Advisors at Sanford

Full Professors    
Kelly Brownell Lisa Gennetian  Subhrendu Pattanayak
Charles Clotfelter Kristin Goss Philip Michael Napoli
William (Sandy) Darity Bruce Jentleson   Alex Pfaff
 Ken Dodge Judith Kelley Billy Pizer
 Joel Fleishman   Robert Korstad Donald Taylor
Christina Gibson-Davis  Anirudh Krishna Peter Ubel
  Giovanna Merli  Kate Whetten
Associate Professors    
Sarah Bermeo Marc Jeuland Mallory SoRelle
Nicholas Carnes  Manoj Mohanan   
Anna Gassman-Pines Gunther Peck  
  Marcos Rangel  
Assistant Professors    
Carolyn Barnes Robyn Meeks Steven Sexton
Matthew Johnson Simon Miles  
Sarah A.G. Komisarow Deondra Rose  
Jennifer Lansford    

young woman, smiling"I chose to pursue a PhD because I wanted to learn and acquire the research skills I needed to understand complex policy challenges and contribute to their solutions. I chose Sanford because it provided the right balance of training and application and because of the opportunities to work with faculty at the forefronts of their fields. I appreciated the collaborative approach to mentorship modeled by the faculty with whom I worked, and I found Sanford to be an excellent place to grow as a policy scholar.” 

Emily Pakhtigian PhD'20, Assistant Professor, Penn State

Faculty Directories for Other Areas at Duke

You may also want to explore faculty working in other parts of Duke to see who might share your interests. Following are faculty directories to help you:

PhD Executive Committee

The faculty members that oversee the Public Policy PhD Program includes:

Three student representatives are also on the committee.